Best Answer: Does Installing macOS Catalina Delete Files?
Contents

If you mean, does installing a new version lose data and apps from the old version, no, it does not. It simply upgrades the OS and then optimises your Mac for the new system.

Does updating macOS Catalina delete everything?

The data is not physically deleted from the system until it is overwritten with new data. If you find your files missing after mac update, stop using the device to avoid writing any new data on the hard drive. Then follow the solutions below to recover lost data after the macOS 10.15 update.

Does installing a new macOS delete everything?

No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.

Chloe Bennett

Chloe Bennett

Culture, Media & Entertainment Columnist

Chloe Bennett explores the intersection of pop culture, streaming entertainment, digital trends, and contemporary lifestyle. Her weekly commentary reaches thousands of culture enthusiasts.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest