Best Answer: How Do I Restore My Android to Factory Settings Without Losing Data?
Contents

Open Settings and then choose System, Advanced, Reset options, and Delete all data (factory reset). Android will then show you an overview of the data you’re about to wipe. Tap Erase all data, enter the lock screen PIN code, then tap Erase all data again to start the reset process.

Does a factory reset delete everything?

When you do a factory reset on your Android device, it erases all the data on your device. It is similar to the concept of formatting a computer hard drive, which deletes all the pointers to your data, so the computer no longer knows where the data is stored.

How do I do a soft reset on my Android?

Android offers a built-in soft reset option, readily available from your phone’s settings menu. Go to Settings, choose Backup & Reset and the select “Factory Data Reset.” You will be prompted to confirm.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest