Can I Safely Delete Windows Update Cleanup Files?
Contents Windows Update Cleanup: When You Install Updates from Windows Update, Windows Keeps Older Versions of the System Files Around. This Allows You to...
Windows Update Cleanup: When you install updates from Windows Update, Windows keeps older versions of the system files around. This allows you to uninstall the updates later. … This is safe to delete as long as your computer is working properly and you don’t plan on uninstalling any updates.
What happens when you delete Windows Update Cleanup?
Windows saves old versions of files that have been updated by a service pack. If you delete the files, you won’t be able to uninstall the service pack later. Windows Update Cleanup only appears in the list when the Disk Cleanup wizard detects Windows updates that you don’t need on your system.
Must Read
What should I not delete in Disk Cleanup?
There is one file category you should not delete in Disk Cleanup. It is Windows ESD installation files. Usually, the Windows ESD installation files take up a few gigabytes of disk space on your computer.