Can Illustrator Open Svg Files?
Contents

Illustrator supports SVG as a first-class file format. You can File > Save As… and choose “SVG” as an option, as an alternative to the default `. ai` file format.

How do I import an SVG file into Illustrator?

Import SVG files

  1. Using the File Import option: Click File > Import > Import to Stage, or Import to Library and select the SVG file.
  2. Drag and drop an SVG file directly on to the stage.
  3. Using SVG assets stored in your CC library: Drag and drop the asset from CC library directly on to stage or your document’s library.

13.01.2018

Can you open SVG in Adobe Illustrator?

Choose Effect > SVG Filter > Import SVG Filter. Select the SVG file you want to import effects from and click Open.

Sophia Al-Mansoor

Sophia Al-Mansoor

Global Business & E-Commerce Reporter

Sophia analyzes international trade, startup ecosystems, retail transformation, and supply chain logistics for modern digital publications.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest