Do I Need to Backup Lightroom Catalog?
Contents

Backing up your Lightroom catalog DOES NOT backup your photos. These are two separate processes. Your Lightroom catalog is simply a database of edits you’ve made to your images and a collection of thumbnails of those images. … So, most importantly — make a backup of the photos on your computer.

Should I Backup Lightroom catalog?

As you back up your Lightroom catalog over time you will notice that these files will accumulate. And, it is safe to delete the older versions. Since your catalog changes over time it is unlikely very old backups will be useful. We suggest keeping a few month’s worth, no more.

What does backing up Lightroom catalog do?

Schedule catalog backups

Backs up the catalog the next time you exit Lightroom Classic, and then the Back Up Catalog option switches to Never. Backs up the catalog every time you exit Lightroom Classic, so changes from every working session are always backed up.

Sarah Jenkins

Sarah Jenkins

Senior Technology Editor & AI Specialist

Sarah Jenkins is a veteran tech journalist with over 12 years of experience covering artificial intelligence, mobile innovations, and digital ethics. Her insights have appeared in leading technology publications worldwide.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest