Does Archiving Delete Save Data Switch?

Archiving a game will delete all of the game data (which takes up the bulk of the space on your console) but leave your game saves where they are. That way, if you download the game again in the future, you don't have to start over. This is important because your game saves are only stored on your console.

Does archiving switch games delete save data?

What happens to my game progress if I archive or delete my downloaded software? The game save data is unaffected in either option, so you can resume your game progress once the software is redownloaded.

What is the difference between archiving and deleting on Nintendo switch?

The difference between deleting and archiving comes down to one thing: When you archive a game, its icon remains on your Home screen as a shortcut to re-downloading it. If you want to keep a game's shortcut on your Home screen, archive it instead of deleting it.

Alexander Ross

Alexander Ross

Gaming, Esports & Interactive Media Writer

Alexander Ross has covered the video game industry for a decade, writing deep dives on game design, esports tournaments, VR developments, and gaming culture.