Does Installing Mac Os High Sierra Delete Everything?
Contents

Does installing new macOS delete everything?

You can restore your Mac to factory settings by erasing your Mac, then using macOS Recovery, the built-in recovery system on your Mac, to reinstall macOS. Important: Erasing the volume removes all the information from it.

Does updating Mac OS Sierra delete everything?

No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.

Chloe Bennett

Chloe Bennett

Culture, Media & Entertainment Columnist

Chloe Bennett explores the intersection of pop culture, streaming entertainment, digital trends, and contemporary lifestyle. Her weekly commentary reaches thousands of culture enthusiasts.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest