Does Installing macOS Catalina Delete Everything?
Contents

Does installing new macOS delete everything?

You can restore your Mac to factory settings by erasing your Mac, then using macOS Recovery, the built-in recovery system on your Mac, to reinstall macOS. Important: Erasing the volume removes all the information from it.

Does updating macOS Catalina delete everything?

No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.

David Miller

David Miller

Executive Financial & Market Analyst

David Miller brings 15 years of experience in global economics, personal finance strategy, and market dynamics. He specializes in turning complex economic trends into actionable insights for everyday readers.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest