Does macOS Sierra Delete Everything?
Contents

Don’t worry; it won’t affect your files, data, apps, user settings, etc. Only a fresh copy of macOS High Sierra will be installed on your Mac again. … A clean install will delete everything associated with your profile, all your files, and documents, while the reinstall will not.

Does updating Mac OS Sierra delete everything?

No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.

Does installing new macOS delete everything?

Reinstalling Mac OSX by booting into the Rescue drive partition (hold Cmd-R at boot) and selecting “Reinstall Mac OS” does not delete anything. It overwrites all system files in-place, but retains all your files and most preferences.

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Consumer Tech & Gadget Reviewer

Maya is a hardware enthusiast who tests and reviews smart home devices, smartphones, wearables, and audio gear. She focuses on practical consumer value and build quality.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest