Does Reinstall Mac Os Wipe Hard Drive?
Contents 2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the Recovery Menu Does Not Erase Your Data. However, If There Is a Corruption Issue, Your Data May Be Corrupted as...
2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. However, if there is a corruption issue, your data may be corrupted as well, its really hard to tell.
Does upgrading Mac OS wipe hard drive?
Never upgrade to a newer OS X before backing up all your data first. An upgrade doesn’t necessarily mean it will wipe the drive but better to be safe than sorry. … To answer your question, no typically you lose no files upgrading OS X. Some Application may not longer run, and files un-accessible in that way.
Must Read
What happens when you reinstall Mac OS?
It does exactly what it says it does–reinstalls macOS itself. It only touches operating system files that are there in a default configuration, so any preference files, documents and applications that are either changed or not there in the default installer are simply left alone.