Does Reinstalling Mac Os Erase Files?
Contents

2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. However, if there is a corruption issue, your data may be corrupted as well, its really hard to tell.

Does reinstalling Mac OS remove files?

Reinstalling Mac OSX by booting into the Rescue drive partition (hold Cmd-R at boot) and selecting “Reinstall Mac OS” does not delete anything. It overwrites all system files in-place, but retains all your files and most preferences.

Can you reinstall macOS without losing data?

Step 4: Reinstall Mac OS X without Losing Data

When you get the macOS utility window on the screen, you can just click on the “Reinstall macOS” option to proceed. … In the end, you can just choose to restore data from the Time Machine backup.

Chloe Bennett

Chloe Bennett

Culture, Media & Entertainment Columnist

Chloe Bennett explores the intersection of pop culture, streaming entertainment, digital trends, and contemporary lifestyle. Her weekly commentary reaches thousands of culture enthusiasts.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest