Does Reinstalling macOS Delete Anything?
Contents

2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. However, if there is a corruption issue, your data may be corrupted as well, its really hard to tell. … Reinatalling the os alone does not erase data.

Can I reinstall macOS without losing data?

Option #1: Reinstall macOS without Losing Data From Internet Recovery. Click the Apple icon>Restart. Hold down the key combination: Command+R, you will see the Apple logo. Then choose “Reinstall macOS Big Sur” from utilities window and click “Continue”.

Does reinstalling macOS keep files?

macOS Recovery keeps your files and user settings intact when reinstalling. Important: Your computer must be connected to the internet to reinstall macOS.

James H. Sterling

James H. Sterling

Environmental Science & Climate Journalist

James Sterling reports on renewable energy developments, climate policy, ecological conservation, and green tech innovations around the globe.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest