Does Reinstalling macOS Delete Photos?
Contents

2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. … To gain access to the disk depends on what model Mac you have.

Does reinstalling macOS delete everything?

Reinstalling Mac OSX by booting into the Rescue drive partition (hold Cmd-R at boot) and selecting “Reinstall Mac OS” does not delete anything. It overwrites all system files in-place, but retains all your files and most preferences.

What happens if you reinstall macOS?

It does exactly what it says it does–reinstalls macOS itself. It only touches operating system files that are there in a default configuration, so any preference files, documents and applications that are either changed or not there in the default installer are simply left alone.

Elena Rostova

Elena Rostova

Lead Health, Wellness & Medical Journalist

Elena Rostova holds a Master's degree in Public Health Journalism. She covers groundbreaking medical research, holistic wellness trends, mental health awareness, and nutritional science.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest