Does Reinstalling macOS Wipe Everything?
Contents Reinstalling Mac Osx by Booting into the Rescue Drive Partition (Hold Cmd-R at Boot) and Selecting “Reinstall Mac Os” Does Not Delete Anything. It...
Reinstalling Mac OSX by booting into the Rescue drive partition (hold Cmd-R at boot) and selecting “Reinstall Mac OS” does not delete anything. It overwrites all system files in-place, but retains all your files and most preferences.
Can you reinstall macOS without losing data?
Step 4: Reinstall Mac OS X without Losing Data
When you get the macOS utility window on the screen, you can just click on the “Reinstall macOS” option to proceed. … In the end, you can just choose to restore data from the Time Machine backup.
Must Read
What happens if I reinstall macOS?
It does exactly what it says it does–reinstalls macOS itself. It only touches operating system files that are there in a default configuration, so any preference files, documents and applications that are either changed or not there in the default installer are simply left alone.