Does Resetting Windows 10 Remove All Files?
Contents

Reset removed everything, including your files–like doing a complete Windows resintall from scratch. On Windows 10, things are a bit simpler. The only option is “Reset your PC”, but during the process, you’ll get to choose whether to keep your personal files or not.

What files are kept when resetting Windows 10?

Resetting your Windows 10 PC means that all the system files are deleted and then restored to their originals. All your desktop applications are removed from your PC, so you have to reinstall and reconfigure each of them after the reset process is done.

How do I factory reset Windows 10 but keep files?

Running Reset This PC with the Keep My Files option is actually easy. It will take some time to complete, but it is a straightforward operation. After your system boots from the Recovery Drive and you select the Troubleshoot > Reset This PC option. You’ll select the Keep My Files option, as shown in Figure A.

Sarah Jenkins

Sarah Jenkins

Senior Technology Editor & AI Specialist

Sarah Jenkins is a veteran tech journalist with over 12 years of experience covering artificial intelligence, mobile innovations, and digital ethics. Her insights have appeared in leading technology publications worldwide.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest