Does Secure Erase Remove Operating System?
Contents

It’s easy, and every single bit of every single byte — operating system, settings, programs, and data — is removed from the hard drive… … including all your personal information. Then, if you like (and if you can), reinstall the operating system from an install disk.

Does Secure Erase remove everything?

Secure Erase completely wipes clean all of the data found on a drive and does not allow that data to be retrieved. It is a permanent solution that provides the maximum level of security for sensitive data that must be erased.

Does Secure Erase delete Windows?

When you delete a file in Windows, it may seem like it’s gone for good. But, unless you securely erase a file, it can be recovered. This is because Windows doesn’t actually remove the file from your hard drive when you delete it. Only the reference to the file is removed from the file system table.

Sarah Jenkins

Sarah Jenkins

Senior Technology Editor & AI Specialist

Sarah Jenkins is a veteran tech journalist with over 12 years of experience covering artificial intelligence, mobile innovations, and digital ethics. Her insights have appeared in leading technology publications worldwide.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest