Frequent Question: Does Downgrading iOS Delete Everything?
Contents

First up, downgrading iOS will require you to completely wipe your phone – all your contacts, photos, apps and everything else will be deleted. … If your iPhone or iPad has automatically backed up via iCloud since you’ve upgraded, you won’t be able to access any of your data after downgrading.

Will I lose my data if I downgrade my iPhone?

A downgrade means wiping all of the data from your device and re-installing an old OS. The best-case scenario is you backed up your iPhone before installing the latest iOS version. If you did, you could simply restore that backup onto your device.

Answer: A: iOS downgrades are not permitted.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest