Frequent Question: Does Reinstalling macOS Delete Everything?
Contents

2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. However, if there is a corruption issue, your data may be corrupted as well, its really hard to tell. … Reinatalling the os alone does not erase data.

Can you reinstall macOS without losing data?

The good news is that, if you follow the instructions strictly to update your Mac Operating System, the chance to lose data on your Mac is quite slim, since a reinstallation just needs to create a new copy of the OS, your existing files stored on your Mac won’t be lost.

What will reinstalling macOS do?

This installs the system that came with your Mac when it was new. It isn’t associated with your Apple ID, so the new owner can use the App Store to upgrade to a later version using their Apple ID.

Robert Thorne

Robert Thorne

Automotive & Future Transportation Editor

Robert Thorne covers electric vehicle innovations, autonomous driving systems, global mobility trends, and automotive engineering developments.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest