Frequent Question: Does Windows 10 Erase All Data?
Contents

Windows 10 has a built-in method for wiping your PC and restoring it to an ‘as new’ state. You can choose to preserve just your personal files or to erase everything, depending on what you need.

Does Windows 10 reset remove all data?

Reset removed everything, including your files–like doing a complete Windows resintall from scratch. On Windows 10, things are a bit simpler. The only option is “Reset your PC”, but during the process, you’ll get to choose whether to keep your personal files or not.

Does installing Windows 10 delete everything?

A fresh, clean Windows 10 install will not delete user data files, but all applications need to be reinstalled on the computer after the OS upgrade. The old Windows installation will be moved into the “Windows. old” folder, and a new “Windows” folder will be created.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest