How Do I Check Gamut in Photoshop?
Contents

A gamut is the range of colors that can be displayed or printed. In Photoshop talk, out-of-gamut colors generally are those that can’t be represented by cyan, magenta, yellow, and black and, therefore, can’t be printed. To turn gamut warnings on or off, choose View→Gamut Warning. You should leave the gamut warning on.

How do I find the color gamut in Photoshop?

Fix Out-of-Gamut Colors with Hue and Saturation

  1. Open a copy of your image.
  2. Choose View -> Gamut Warning. …
  3. Choose View -> Proof Setup; choose the proof profile you want to use. …
  4. In the Layers window -> Click on the New Adjustment Layer icon -> Choose Hue/Saturation.

How do I fix gamut in Photoshop?

Next, choose Select>Color Range, and in the Select menu, choose Out of Gamut, and Click OK to load a selection of the out-of-gamut colors. Then, choose Image>Adjustments>Hue/Saturation and move the Saturation value to ~10, and click OK. You should see the gray areas get smaller.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest