How Do You Create an Outline in Illustrator?
Contents

Switch to the Selection tool and choose Type→Create Outlines. You can also use the keyboard command Ctrl+Shift+O (Windows) or cmd+Shift+O (Mac). The text is now grouped together in outline form.

How do you make an outline in Illustrator?

How to Outline Text Using Adobe Illustrator:

  1. Unlock all text layers.
  2. Select all of the text (Mac: Cmd+A) (PC: Ctrl+A)
  3. From the “Type” menu, select “Create Outlines” (Mac: Shift+Cmd+O) (PC: Shift+Ctl+O)
  4. From the “File” Menu, select “Save As” and save your file as a new document.

Why can’t I create outline in Illustrator?

You can’t create outlines when you have the text directly selected. You have to select the textbox instead, then you’ll be able to create outlines. I have no idea why it works this way. It’s because a text object can’t contain both outlines and glyphs (live text).

David Miller

David Miller

Executive Financial & Market Analyst

David Miller brings 15 years of experience in global economics, personal finance strategy, and market dynamics. He specializes in turning complex economic trends into actionable insights for everyday readers.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest