How Do You Merge Outlines in Illustrator?
Contents

Do this by selecting Object -> Path -> Outline Stroke . Open the Pathfinder palette ( Window -> Pathfinder ) and with the two items selected alt-click on the Unite button – it’s the first one that looks like two squares united into one. Always do this with objects selected.

How do you unite lines in Illustrator?

Join two or more paths

Illustrator provides the option to join two or more open paths. To join one or more open paths, use the Selection tool to select the open paths and click Object > Path > Join. You can also use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+J (Windows) or Cmd+J (Mac).

How do I combine text and shapes in Illustrator?

To make your live type merge correctly with path objects, choose “Create Outlines” from the Type menu. Illustrator turns your text into vector objects with the size, shape, fill and stroke you applied to your type.

Sarah Jenkins

Sarah Jenkins

Senior Technology Editor & AI Specialist

Sarah Jenkins is a veteran tech journalist with over 12 years of experience covering artificial intelligence, mobile innovations, and digital ethics. Her insights have appeared in leading technology publications worldwide.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest