How do I block someone on Facebook without them knowing?

When you block someone on Facebook do they know?

Can they see you have blocked them? People will not be notified when you block them. You can also block mesages from users on Facebook as well. They won’t be able to contact you in the Messenger app if you do this – and they also won’t be notified.