Is It Safe to Delete Windows Update Cleanup Files?
Contents

Windows Update Cleanup: When you install updates from Windows Update, Windows keeps older versions of the system files around. This allows you to uninstall the updates later. … This is safe to delete as long as your computer is working properly and you don’t plan on uninstalling any updates.

What is Windows Update cleanup in Disk Cleanup?

The Windows Update Cleanup option is available only when the Disk Cleanup wizard detects Windows updates that you do not need on the computer. To let you roll back to previous updates, updates are stored in the WinSxS store even after they are superseded by later updates.

How long does it take to delete Windows Update Cleanup?

Unreferenced components are removed immediately, and the task will run to completion, even if it takes more than an hour. (I don’t know if the one hour timeout is actually meaningful in practice.

Elena Rostova

Elena Rostova

Lead Health, Wellness & Medical Journalist

Elena Rostova holds a Master's degree in Public Health Journalism. She covers groundbreaking medical research, holistic wellness trends, mental health awareness, and nutritional science.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest