On Google What Is Incognito Mode?

Maybe you've downloaded something that you don't want the next person who uses that Google Chrome browser to see. Incognito mode stops the Chrome browser from saving your activity. Keep in mind that Incognito Mode only keeps your activity private on the computer you are using.

What is incognito mode used for?

Browsing in Incognito mode means your activity data isn't saved on your device, or to a Google Account you're not signed into. For example, you may use Incognito mode to shop online for a birthday gift for a family member who shares your device.

Is Incognito mode Safe?

It won't protect you from viruses or malware. It won't keep your internet service provider (ISP) from seeing where you've been online. It won't stop websites from seeing your physical location. And any bookmarks you save while in private browsing or incognito mode won't disappear when you switch it off.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.