Question: How Do You Change the Ruler Scale in Illustrator?
Contents

Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac) the horizontal or vertical ruler and pick a measurement increment from the contextual menu that appears. Choose Edit→ Preferences→ Units (Windows) or Illustrator→ Preferences→ Units (Mac) to open the Preferences dialog box.

How do I change the scale in Illustrator?

To scale from the center, choose Object > Transform > Scale or double-click the Scale tool . To scale relative to a different reference point, select the Scale tool and Alt‑click (Windows) or Option‑click (Mac OS) where you want the reference point to be in the document window.

How do I use the ruler to measure in Illustrator?

To view rulers in Illustrator, choose View→Rulers→Show Rulers or press Ctrl+R (Windows) or Command+R (Mac). When the rulers appear, their default measurement setting is the point (or whichever measurement increment was last set up in the preferences). To change the ruler increment to the measurement system you prefer.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest