Question: How to Delete Previous Version of Windows?
Contents

Here’s the proper way to delete the Windows.old folder:

  • Step 1: Click in Windows’ search field, type Cleanup, then click Disk Cleanup.
  • Step 2: Click the “Clean up system files” button.
  • Step 3: Wait a bit while Windows scans for files, then scroll down the list until you see “Previous Windows installation(s).”

Is it safe to delete previous versions of Windows?

One month after you upgrade to Windows 10, your previous version of Windows will be automatically deleted from your PC. However, if you need to free up disk space, and you’re confident that your files and settings are where you want them to be in Windows 10, you can safely delete it yourself.

What happens if I delete previous version of Windows?

Deleting your previous version of Windows can’t be undone. In the search box on the taskbar, type settings, then choose it from the list of results. Under Remove temporary files, select the Previous version of Windows check box and then choose Remove files.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest