Question: What Happens When You Reinstall Mac Os?
Contents

2 Answers. It does exactly what it says it does–reinstalls macOS itself. It only touches operating system files that are there in a default configuration, so any preference files, documents and applications that are either changed or not there in the default installer are simply left alone.

Will I lose data if I reinstall macOS?

2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. However, if there is a corruption issue, your data may be corrupted as well, its really hard to tell. … Reinatalling the os alone does not erase data.

Is it safe to reinstall macOS?

You might need to remove some startup programs, run updates on your system, or clean out your storage drive to fix this issue. But if none of these fixes have an effect, reinstalling macOS can likely help speed up your system. This is especially the case if your Mac is approaching a decade of life.

James H. Sterling

James H. Sterling

Environmental Science & Climate Journalist

James Sterling reports on renewable energy developments, climate policy, ecological conservation, and green tech innovations around the globe.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest