Question: What Happens When You Reinstall Windows 7?
Contents

You will be able to access the information in Windows. old, but you will be able to use your previous version of Windows. Setup will now start the installation. During the installation, your machine will be restarted several times.

Will reinstalling Windows 7 delete everything?

As long as you do not explicitly choose to format/delete your partitions as you are reinstalling, your files will still be there, the old windows system will be put under old. windows folder in your default system drive. The files like videos, photos and documents won’t disappear.

Does reinstalling Windows delete everything?

Although you’ll keep all of your files and software, the reinstallation will delete certain items such as custom fonts, system icons and Wi-Fi credentials. However, as part of the process, the setup will also create a Windows. old folder which should have everything from your previous installation.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest