Quick Answer: How Do I Import a Template into Illustrator?
Contents

Select File > Place. In the Place dialog box, select the artwork you want to import and select the Template check box in the lower-left corner; then press Place. The file is placed on a locked layer and is dimmed to 50 percent by default, so that you can clearly see any paths you draw over it.

How do I install a template in Illustrator?

Choose File > New From Template. Choose File > New. In the New Document dialog box, click Templates. In the Welcome screen, click From Template in the Create New list.

How do I open a template in Illustrator?

Adobe Illustrator template:

Open the AI (or EPS) template in Illustrator (File > Open; or drag it into the program). The template itself will be on a locked layer on top (Window > Layers) and is called ‘Template’.

James H. Sterling

James H. Sterling

Environmental Science & Climate Journalist

James Sterling reports on renewable energy developments, climate policy, ecological conservation, and green tech innovations around the globe.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest