Quick Answer: What Happens When You Block a Number on Android?
Contents

Simply put, when you block a number on your Android phone, the caller can no longer contact you. Phone calls do not ring through to your phone, they go directly to voicemail. However, the blocked caller would only hear your phone rings once before before being diverted to voicemail.

What does the other person see when you block their number?

If an Android user has blocked you, Lavelle says, “your text messages will go through as usual; they just won’t be delivered to the Android user.” It’s the same as an iPhone, but without the “delivered” notification (or lack thereof) to clue you in.

When you block a number on Android do they know?

Instead, it’s more of a “re-routing,” but the blocked party does not get any notification that they are under a block. The block is in one direction, meaning you can initiate communication from your end, while the phone number you’ve blocked cannot.

Elena Rostova

Elena Rostova

Lead Health, Wellness & Medical Journalist

Elena Rostova holds a Master's degree in Public Health Journalism. She covers groundbreaking medical research, holistic wellness trends, mental health awareness, and nutritional science.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest