Quick Answer: What Happens When You Flash an Android Phone?
Contents

Flashing leaves your phone to factory settings. If you do not keep a backup of your data, system, and apps. You will lose them. It is suggested to have a backup of them before flashing.

Does flashing your phone delete everything?

Essentially, this performs a factory reset on your phone, and you will lose all your data. If you’re flashing a new version of a ROM you’re already running, we recommend wiping your data and cache—but you should be able to get away with just wiping the cache, meaning you get to keep all your apps and settings.

Is it safe to flash your phone?

Yes. Flashing bad software is the easiest way to brick your device. A failed flash or one that gets interrupted may also brick your device. Sometimes things just go wrong even if you do everything right; flashing software manually is not something for the faint of heart.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest