Should Network Discovery Be on or off?
If You're Connected to a Network in a Public Location and You Decide to Turn on Network Discovery but Leave Network Sharing Turned Off, the Network Discovery...
If you're connected to a network in a public location and you decide to turn on network discovery but leave network sharing turned off, the network discovery setting will be on for every public network you connect to from then on. This wouldn't be safe. That's why we recommend using the network sharing setting instead.
What happens when you turn on network discovery?
Network Discovery is a Windows setting that determines whether other computers and devices connected to the network can see and communicate with each other. When enabled on your PC, you'll be able to see other computers and devices connected to the same network.
What does it mean when network discovery is turned off?
Network discovery is turned off when you're connected to public networks that shouldn't be trusted and you don't allow your PC to be discoverable on those networks.