What Does Archiving an iOS Backup Do?
Contents

Archiving a backup essentially locks that backup so that it is not overwritten by subsequent device backups made to iTunes. Again, iCloud has no impact on backups in iTunes. You can backup to both iCloud and iTunes if desired.

Is it safe to delete old iOS backups?

A: The short answer is no—deleting your old iPhone backup from iCloud is completely safe and won’t affect any of the data on your actual iPhone. … You can remove any device backup stored in iCloud by going into your iOS Settings app and selecting iCloud, Storage & Backup and then Manage Storage.

What happens if I delete iOS backups?

Deleting a backup deletes the backup only from the iCloud storage, not anything on the iPhone. The iPhone’s iCloud backup will be updated at some point – automatically when the iPhone is connected to an available wi-fi network while connected to a power source unless the iCloud backup is turned off on the iPhone.

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Consumer Tech & Gadget Reviewer

Maya is a hardware enthusiast who tests and reviews smart home devices, smartphones, wearables, and audio gear. She focuses on practical consumer value and build quality.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest