What Does It Mean to Lock a File in Box?

If you are working on a file with other collaborators, be sure to lock files before opening them with Box Edit. This will prevent other users from making changes to documents that you are working on until you unlock the file.

What happens when you lock a file?

File locking is a mechanism that restricts access to a computer file, or to a region of a file, by allowing only one user or process to modify or delete it in a specific time and to prevent reading of the file while it's being modified or deleted.

What does it mean to lock a document?

To protect documents from being accidentally changed or deleted, you can lock them. When a document is locked, you receive a warning when you move it to the Trash. When you empty the Trash, the locked document is deleted.

Alexander Ross

Alexander Ross

Gaming, Esports & Interactive Media Writer

Alexander Ross has covered the video game industry for a decade, writing deep dives on game design, esports tournaments, VR developments, and gaming culture.