What Does Reinstall Mac Os Do?
Contents

It does exactly what it says it does–reinstalls macOS itself. It only touches operating system files that are there in a default configuration, so any preference files, documents and applications that are either changed or not there in the default installer are simply left alone.

Should I reinstall Mac OS?

The main reason most people would reinstall macOS is because their system is completely messed up. Maybe error messages pop up constantly, software won’t run correctly, and other usability issues prevent you from working normally. In extreme cases, your Mac might not even boot.

Does reinstall Mac OS delete everything?

Reinstalling Mac OSX by booting into the Rescue drive partition (hold Cmd-R at boot) and selecting “Reinstall Mac OS” does not delete anything. It overwrites all system files in-place, but retains all your files and most preferences.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest