What Happens If I Delete My iOS Files?
Contents

They’re used to restore your iDevice without needing a download if there has been no new update to iOS. If you delete these files and you later need to restore your iPhone, iTunes will update to the newest iOS version by uploading the appropriate installer file.

Does deleting iOS files delete photos?

They contain all your precious data (contacts, photos, app data, and more), so you should be careful about what you do with them. … So, if you’ve switched to iCloud Backup (and you’ve confirmed a recent copy of your data is safely stored in the cloud), those iOS Files taking up all that space on your Mac can be removed.

What happens if you delete files on iPhone?

Delete ‘Recently Deleted’

Deleted photos and videos get moved to the “Recently Deleted” folder. Apple did this to let you recover media you might have accidentally deleted. It’s a great idea, but technically, they’re still using up storage on your iPhone until they expire.

Chloe Bennett

Chloe Bennett

Culture, Media & Entertainment Columnist

Chloe Bennett explores the intersection of pop culture, streaming entertainment, digital trends, and contemporary lifestyle. Her weekly commentary reaches thousands of culture enthusiasts.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest