What Happens When You Reboot Your Android Phone?
Contents

It’s actually really simple: when you restart your phone, everything that’s in RAM is cleared out. All the fragments of previously running apps are purged, and all currently open apps are killed. When the phone reboots, RAM is basically “cleaned,” so you’re starting with a fresh slate.

Does rebooting Android delete everything?

Rebooting is the same as restarting, and close enough to powering off and then turning off your device. The purpose is to close and reopen the operating system. Resetting, on the other hand, means taking the device back to the state in which it left the factory. Resetting wipes all your personal data.

Is it good to reboot your phone?

There are multiple reasons why you’re supposed to restart your phone at least once a week, and it’s for a good cause: retaining memory, preventing crashes, running more smoothly, and prolonging battery life. … Restarting the phone clears open apps and memory leaks, and gets rid of anything draining your battery.

James H. Sterling

James H. Sterling

Environmental Science & Climate Journalist

James Sterling reports on renewable energy developments, climate policy, ecological conservation, and green tech innovations around the globe.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest