What Happens When You Reinstall macOS?
Contents

It does exactly what it says it does–reinstalls macOS itself. It only touches operating system files that are there in a default configuration, so any preference files, documents and applications that are either changed or not there in the default installer are simply left alone.

Will I lose data if I reinstall Mac OS?

2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. However, if there is a corruption issue, your data may be corrupted as well, its really hard to tell.

Is it safe to reinstall Mac OS?

You might need to remove some startup programs, run updates on your system, or clean out your storage drive to fix this issue. But if none of these fixes have an effect, reinstalling macOS can likely help speed up your system. This is especially the case if your Mac is approaching a decade of life.

Elena Rostova

Elena Rostova

Lead Health, Wellness & Medical Journalist

Elena Rostova holds a Master's degree in Public Health Journalism. She covers groundbreaking medical research, holistic wellness trends, mental health awareness, and nutritional science.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest