What Happens When You Update Mac Os?
Contents

When Software Update says that your Mac is up to date, the installed version of macOS and all of its apps are also up to date. That includes Safari, Music, Photos, Books, Messages, Mail, Calendar, and FaceTime.

Will I lose data if I upgrade Mac OS?

No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.

Do I need to update my Mac operating system?

Upgrading to a major new version of an Apple operating system isn’t something to do lightly. The upgrade process may consume precious time, you may need new software, and you’ll have to learn what’s new. Despite these challenges, we always recommend that you upgrade.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest