What Is Windows Update Cleanup in Windows 10?
Contents

Description. Windows Update Cleanup. Windows keeps copies of all installed updates from Windows Update, even after installing newer versions of updates that are no longer needed and taking up space. (You might need to restart your computer.)

Should I clean up Windows Update Cleanup?

Windows Update Cleanup: When you install updates from Windows Update, Windows keeps older versions of the system files around. This allows you to uninstall the updates later. … This is safe to delete as long as your computer is working properly and you don’t plan on uninstalling any updates.

Can I delete Windows Update Cleanup Windows 10?

Replies (4)  It is safe to delete those filed with cleanup, however you may not be able to reverse any Windows updates if desired after you use Windows Update Cleanup. If your system is functioning properly and has been for a time, then I see no reason not to clean them up. I have done this on all my systems to date.

James H. Sterling

James H. Sterling

Environmental Science & Climate Journalist

James Sterling reports on renewable energy developments, climate policy, ecological conservation, and green tech innovations around the globe.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest