What's Incognito Mode in Chrome?

Incognito mode stops Chrome from saving your browsing activity to your local history. Your activity, like your location, might still be visible to: Websites you visit, including the ads and resources used on those sites. Websites you sign in to. Your employer, school, or whoever runs the network you're using.

What does Chrome incognito mode do?

In Incognito, none of your browsing history, cookies and site data, or information entered in forms are saved on your device. This means your activity doesn't show up in your Chrome browser history, so people who also use your device won't see your activity.

Is it safe to go incognito in Chrome?

When you put on incognito mode before logging into a website, you can rest assured that your browsing data and login info won't be saved — by Chrome, that is. There's always the risk of keyloggers or other malware logging your information.

David Miller

David Miller

Executive Financial & Market Analyst

David Miller brings 15 years of experience in global economics, personal finance strategy, and market dynamics. He specializes in turning complex economic trends into actionable insights for everyday readers.