What's Initialize Ps4 Mean?

Initialisation of your PS4™ system restores system settings to default values. It deletes data saved on system storage and deletes all users and their data from the system. Select (Settings) > [Initialisation] > [Initialise PS4], and then follow the on-screen instructions.

Should I quick or full initialize PS4?

A Full initialization wipes all of the data securely and prevents anyone else from recovering the data. This process can take several hours, though. It's best to choose the Full initialization. Once you choose one, select “Initialize” to confirm the action.

What happens if you cancel PS4 initialize?

Deleted data cannot be restored. This also includes DLC, full games, themes, avatars, and season passes. Ps4 shut off by accident during initialization I had a bunch of junk I needed to get rid of on my Ps4 so I decided to reset to factory settings, which is initialization.

Chloe Bennett

Chloe Bennett

Culture, Media & Entertainment Columnist

Chloe Bennett explores the intersection of pop culture, streaming entertainment, digital trends, and contemporary lifestyle. Her weekly commentary reaches thousands of culture enthusiasts.