When Copying and Pasting in Excel?

Copy and Paste
  • Select the cell or cell range you want to copy.
  • Click the Copy button on the Home tab. Press Ctrl + C.
  • Click the cell where you want to paste your data.
  • Click the Paste button. Press Ctrl + V.

How do you copy and paste in Excel and keep formatting?

Using Copy and Paste for Formatting
  1. Select the cell or cells whose format you wish to copy.
  2. Press Ctrl+C or press Ctrl+Insert. ...
  3. Select the cell or cell range into which you want the formats pasted.
  4. Choose Paste Special from the Edit menu. ...
  5. Choose the Formats radio button.
  6. Click on OK.

Why is my excel not copying and pasting?

Cause: The Copy area and the Paste area are not the same size and shape. Solution: Select the upper-left cell instead of the whole range before you paste. Click the cell where you want the upper-left cell of the copied data to appear. On the Home tab, click Paste.

Alexander Ross

Alexander Ross

Gaming, Esports & Interactive Media Writer

Alexander Ross has covered the video game industry for a decade, writing deep dives on game design, esports tournaments, VR developments, and gaming culture.