Where Do Deleted Files Go in Linux?
Contents

Files are usually moved to somewhere like ~/. local/share/Trash/files/ when trashed. The rm command on UNIX/Linux is comparable to del on DOS/Windows which also deletes and does not move files to the Recycle Bin.

Where do deleted files go?

Sent to Recycle Bin or Trash

When you first delete a file, it is moved to the computer’s Recycle Bin, Trash, or something similar depending on your operating system. When something is sent to the Recycle Bin or Trash, the icon changes to indicate it contains files and if needed allows you to recover a deleted file.

Where are deleted files stored in Ubuntu?

When you delete an item it is moved to the Trash folder, where it is stored until you empty the trash. You can restore items in the Trash folder to their original location if you decide you need them, or if they were accidentally deleted.

Alexander Ross

Alexander Ross

Gaming, Esports & Interactive Media Writer

Alexander Ross has covered the video game industry for a decade, writing deep dives on game design, esports tournaments, VR developments, and gaming culture.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest