Will Reinstall macOS Erase Data?
Contents Reinstalling Mac Osx by Booting into the Rescue Drive Partition (Hold Cmd-R at Boot) and Selecting “Reinstall Mac Os” Does Not Delete Anything. It...
Reinstalling Mac OSX by booting into the Rescue drive partition (hold Cmd-R at boot) and selecting “Reinstall Mac OS” does not delete anything. It overwrites all system files in-place, but retains all your files and most preferences.
Can I reinstall macOS without losing data?
Step 4: Reinstall Mac OS X without Losing Data
When you get the macOS utility window on the screen, you can just click on the “Reinstall macOS” option to proceed. … In the end, you can just choose to restore data from the Time Machine backup.
Must Read
What happens if you reinstall macOS?
It does exactly what it says it does–reinstalls macOS itself. It only touches operating system files that are there in a default configuration, so any preference files, documents and applications that are either changed or not there in the default installer are simply left alone.