Will Reinstalling Whatsapp Delete Chat?

So, yes, nothing happens to your old messages and media provided you select the restore option when asked during the reinstallation process. If you miss that window, your WhatsApp app will appear blank without any chat history except the groups that you are part of.

Does uninstalling WhatsApp delete chats?

Delete WhatsApp:

Deleting the Whatsapp Account means completely erasing your details, messages and phone number from Whatsapp. In this case, you won't be able to retrieve any of your old messages even if you had backed them up.

What happens when you delete WhatsApp then reinstall it?

When you uninstall WhatsApp, people can still send you messages. ... Only when you reinstall WhatsApp, you will receive those messages and missed call notifications. However, when you have deleted your WhatsApp account, you won't receive messages that were sent when your account was deleted.

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance

Cybersecurity & Digital Privacy Researcher

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.