Will Updating iOS 11 Delete Everything?
Contents Though Apple’s iOS Updates Are Not Suppose to Delete Any User Information from the Device, Exceptions Arise. to Bypass This Threat of Losing...
Though Apple’s iOS updates are not suppose to delete any user information from the device, exceptions arise. To bypass this threat of losing information, and to quell any anxiety that may accompany that fear, back up your iPhone before doing an update.
Do I need to backup before updating iOS?
iOS 12, Apple’s newest mobile operating system for iPhones and iPads, will be available to download starting Monday. Make sure you’ve backed up your iPhone or iPad before you download and install the update — otherwise you risk losing your data.
Must Read
Will I lose photos if I update my iPhone?
Ordinarily, an iOS update should not cause you to lose any data, but what if it doesn’t go exactly as it should, again for any reason? Without a backup, your data would simply be lost to you. You could also, for photo’s, use something like Google or Dropbox to separately archive your photos and videos.