Will Updating My Mac Os Delete My Files?
Contents No. Generally Speaking, Upgrading to a Subsequent Major Release of macOS Doesn’t Erase/Touch User Data. Pre-Installed Apps and Configurations Too...
No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.
Does installing new Mac OS delete everything?
Reinstalling Mac OSX by booting into the Rescue drive partition (hold Cmd-R at boot) and selecting “Reinstall Mac OS” does not delete anything. It overwrites all system files in-place, but retains all your files and most preferences.
What happens when you update Mac OS?
Updates to apps—and also to the operating system—can provide new features, performance improvements, and bug fixes, and those fixes often remedy security vulnerabilities to protect you from potential threats.