You Asked: Does a Factory Reset Remove the Operating System?
Contents

A factory reset effectively destroys all data stored in the unit. Factory resets can fix many chronic performance issues (i.e. freezing), but it does not remove the device’s operating system.

What happens if I reset my computer to factory settings?

It puts all applications back into their original state and removes anything that wasn’t there when the computer left the factory. That means user data from the applications will also be deleted. … Factory resets are simple because they’re programs included on the computer when you first get your hands on it.

What does a factory reset remove?

A factory reset erases all of the information on an electronic device and restores the software to its original state (when it was in the factory). On your phone or desktop computer, this means all your apps and files will be removed. Any apps pre-installed by the manufacturer will be reinstated.

Sarah Jenkins

Sarah Jenkins

Senior Technology Editor & AI Specialist

Sarah Jenkins is a veteran tech journalist with over 12 years of experience covering artificial intelligence, mobile innovations, and digital ethics. Her insights have appeared in leading technology publications worldwide.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest